CONFERENCE CHAMPS! Sanne Bloemendaal and her team win Second Landmark Crown

MADISON, N.J. – Sophomore Melina Christodoulou clinched the match with a victory at No. 1 singles in which she won two tiebreakers, and junior Danielle DelRosso earned Tournament MVP honors as the Drew University women’s tennis team won its second Landmark Conference title in program history with a 5-2 victory over Moravian University in the Simon Forum Saturday afternoon.

The top-seeded Rangers (12-8), who won their 10th match in a row, receive an automatic bid in the NCAA Division III Championships, which begin on Thursday versus an opponent to be determined.

Third-seeded Moravian, the two-time defending Landmark Conference champion, closes out the season at 14-4.

DelRosso finished the tournament a combined 4-0 at No. 5 singles and No. 3 doubles and did not lose a game in singles play.

The Rangers jumped to a 2-1 lead after winning two of three doubles points. Christodoulou and freshman Mary Kalorin won 8-5 at the No. 1 spot, as did DelRosso and freshman Courtney Bresler at No. 3. Christodoulou and Kalorin captured their 10th straight match while DelRosso and Bresler won their 11th in a row and improved to 12-1.

In singles, Kalorin cruised to a 6-0, 6-0 win at No. 2 to make it a 3-1 match before the Greyhounds won at No. 4. DelRosso won her No. 5 match 6-0, 6-0, just minutes before Christodoulou clinched it for the Rangers. DelRosso’s 11th straight singles win pushed her record to 16-4.

The Rangers won their other Landmark Conference title in 2010, when they also defeated Moravian 5-2.

More stories…